Why I Write

Happy National Writing Day’s Eve!

Like many other writers, I plan on sharing some thoughts using the #WhyIWrite hashtag on Twitter tomorrow. But sometimes, 140 characters just isn’t enough.

This past weekend, I had the pleasure of reading WHEN A DRAGON MOVES IN AGAIN at the Barnes & Noble in Marlton, NJ. Afterward, we created fun fire-breathing dragons out of toilet paper rolls and crepe paper (for directions on making one of your own, click here.)

B&N Marlton Lisas

My heart filled when I heard my little listeners giggling over Dragon’s antics. It squished when they told me about their own siblings. It smiled when they stood in a row and “fired up” their creations.

B&N Marlton stage

Later, as I was signing books, a woman approached me and asked what my Dragon books were about.

She paged through, lost in Howard McWilliam’s brilliant illustrations, as I told her about the boy and his magnificent Dragon. But when I explained how “Dragon” acts a little naughty when no one believes he’s real, she looked up. “It’s about a child’s frustration?” she asked. And that’s when she shared a bit of her story with me. I felt my heart splinter. Without divulging personal information, suffice it to say that her granddaughter is dealing with issues a child should never have to.

But then she said she thought my books could help her sweet child battle through her own frustrations…just like the boy.

When a Dragon Moves In Again crib spot

As we hugged, I knew…

This is why I write. This is why I do what I do.

Hugging child pic

2 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. Aw. *heart squish* This means more to me than you’ll ever know! Love you!!! (And super proud of my little bro too!!!) ❤

Leave a Reply

