H4L Day 3: When Things Get Blustery

Understandably, many of my friends are distraught over the political climate. But within that angst, there’s relief and positivity in connecting. Today, one of them reminded me that we must all hold onto one another, and lift each other up. Since it’s National Winnie the Pooh Day (and A.A. Milne’s birthday), I shared this picture in response:

pooh-piglet

It seemed appropriate for not only the day, but the situation. The love shared between these characters is unwavering. So simple and pure. So unconditional. They take care of one another. They look out for one another. They hold onto each other, and lift each other up.

It doesn’t take much. A little kindness can go a long way.

Earlier this afternoon, after days of rain, mist and drizzle (or “mizzle”, as my son has proclaimed it), I was thrilled to be able to take a much-needed walk. Walking helps me think. It clears the “cobwebs”. (And sometimes, if I’m working on my spider story, it creates some.)

A.A. Milne’s stories, and this picture in particular, warmed me as I walked around on this blustery day. And as the gusts played street hockey with the trashcans left out after collection this morning, I found myself going house to house, corralling and returning them to their specific yards. Just a little act of kindness. Not much.

I’d like to think that’s what Pooh and his crew would do.

pooh-book

Thank you, A.A. Milne and Ernest H. Shepard for sharing your talents, your characters, your stories…and your hearts with us. xoxo

Leave a Reply

