H4L Day 4: Seeing the Forest, the Trees & Beyond

As a child, I could never understand what people meant when they said, “You can’t see the forest for the trees”.

To me, it was right in front of them. The forest: deep, mysterious, pulsing with life.

forest

The trees: each one majestic in its own way.

tree-1

tree-2

What couldn’t they see? And why couldn’t they see it?

As a children’s author, it’s my job to keep this perspective. But admittedly, sometimes it’s hard. Sometimes life gets overwhelming, and we get so caught up in the little things that it’s hard to see the big picture. On the flip side, sometimes the big picture feels completely unbearable; we forget that if only we break it down, we can handle it.

Today was one of those days where I couldn’t see the forest OR the trees, so I decided to go off in search of them. I wound up wandering down a path where the brush felt as tangled as my thoughts.

brush

Then I heard the splash. Crouching down, I crept closer, and peered through the branches.

ducks

To my delight, several sets of eyes peered back at me! I stayed awhile.

Watching.

Breathing.

Recharging.

And when I left, I felt ready to write again. Ready to see again.

ducks-2

So on those days when you find you’re having trouble seeing the forest for the trees…? Try looking through them. Beyond them. I think you’ll like what’s out there.

ducks-3

It might even help get your ducks in a row. (Sorry, couldn’t resist.)

4 thoughts on “H4L Day 4: Seeing the Forest, the Trees & Beyond

Leave a Reply

