H4L Day 16: The Power of the Press

Our government runs on a system of checks and balances. In grade school, we learned that was protected by the three branches of government: the Executive Branch, the Legislative Branch and the Judicial Branch.

But while listening to a show on television the other night, it became apparent to me that there are actually four. The free press has always been there to express opinion, expose information and speak the word of the people.

While walking back to my hotel yesterday in Arlington, VA, I passed this sign:

watergate-sign

Chills washed over me as I realized I stood before the garage where Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward of The Washington Post met with Mark Felt (code name Deep Throat) and exposed the Watergate scandal in the early 1970s.

It reinforced my belief – my conviction – that words matter. My words matter. Your words matter. OUR words matter.

Leave a Reply

