H4L Day 19: For the Birds

I have this thing about taking pictures of birds. Maybe it’s because they’re so beautiful. And colorful. And funny (well, our sweet dove Bake is…)

bake-and-me-wrapping

Birds are also smart.

Today, I learned why geese fly in that lovely “V” shape. I don’t know why I never looked it up before, since I stare in amazement each time I hear a flock winging their way through the sky. But there it was, in a post shared by a friend.

Geese fly in formation to conserve energy. According to Everyday Mysteries: Fun Science Facts From The Library Of Congress,”Each bird flies slightly above the bird in front of him, resulting in a reduction of wind resistance. The birds take turns being in the front, falling back when they get tired. In this way, the geese can fly for a long time before they must stop for rest.”

geese

I love how they’re not only efficient, but they take care of each other.

They also find it easier to communicate in a “V” formation.

Maybe we should start building tables and organizing classrooms that way.

After all, those geese make a valid “point”. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

