H4L Day 20: Put One Foot In Front of the Other

Confession #1: We still have our Christmas tree up.

Confession #2: This is not an unusual thing.

Apparently, I’m not the only one. Last night, as I rounded the neighborhood on my walk, I noticed lights shining from inside others’ houses too.

I can’t answer for everyone, but for me, the tree is like a tall, lush, green triangle of comfort. The lights wash the darkness in color. The branches stretch proud and majestic. And the ornaments! Oh, the ornaments. Each one, a tiny, beloved time capsule in itself.

winter-warlock

Every year, each one in our family receives a special ornament from Santa. This year, he brought The Winter Warlock into our home! My heart squished. The boys and I watched the video (yes, this was back in the ’90’s) SANTA CLAUS IS COMING TO TOWN until we could all recite it word for word.

santa-claus-is-coming-to-town

Confession #3: Sometimes I lose confidence in my ability to write.

But now, Winter Warlock has my back to battle my block. (Say that three times fast.)  Now I can look at him, remember and sing: “Put one foot in front of the other…”

My hubby might take our tree down when I attend my SCBWI winter conference later this week, but the Winter Warlock? He’s staying out all year. With me.

And now I must write.

2 thoughts on “H4L Day 20: Put One Foot In Front of the Other

Leave a Reply

